BIO STAR
File №031 · Opened

Subject Identification

Agent Nateur holi (mane)

CategorySupplement · Marine collagen · beauty from within
OriginLos Angeles, United States
Retail$99 · 30 scoops · $84.15 on subscription
FiledSeptember MMXXVI
Audited byInspector 7
Agent Nateur holi (mane)

Verdict

"One Bio Star, by founder's ruling. Purity is not what Agent Nateur says about this formula. It is the formula. holi (mane) distinguished itself through a two-ingredient formulation with no flavour system, sweetener, gum or filler, a collagen dose at the top of the range human trials have used, named species from named waters, stated batch testing for nine heavy metals, and a finished product the inspector records as the best collagen powder she has used. The anchors computed below Finalist: institutional score 3.21, floored at 2.29 by Stewardship, with Efficacy at 2.43 because no study of this product exists and the claims around it, four collagen types, one and a half times the absorption, hair growth and gut repair, are not carried by the literature. The ruling recognises the formula and its execution, not the claims. No score was moved. Sometimes biological excellence is found in an extraordinary technology. Sometimes it is found in removing everything that does not need to be there."

The supplement industry has spent years teaching consumers to read longer labels as better formulas. holi (mane) makes the opposite argument. Marine collagen. Crushed pearl. Nothing else. In a category crowded with flavoured powders, sweeteners, vitamin blends, botanical complexes and ingredients included as much for the label as for the biology, Agent Nateur built its collagen around restraint, and held the formula for five years while the category added everything. There is nowhere for this formula to hide: no flavour system masks the raw material, no vitamin complex distracts from it, no proprietary blend turns two ingredients into twelve. The quality of holi (mane) rises or falls almost entirely on the quality of its collagen and pearl, and on the skin and the tongue it rises: the inspector, who has used more collagen powders than she can count, records it as the best she has used, and that is an observation about the finished product, not a claim about the body. The rest of the file is what a different examination found. The collagen literature supports modest gains in skin hydration and elasticity at doses this scoop delivers, and does not support hair growth, gut repair, four collagen types or a one-and-a-half-times absorption advantage, none of which has a source the Inspectorate could find. No study of this product exists. The blend does not say how much of it is collagen. The heavy-metal testing is stated and not shown. And nothing at all is published about the pouch or the footprint, which is the floor of the file. What the founder's ruling recognises is the formula that exists and how it performs in the hand and the cup. What it declines to recognise is anything the pages say that the evidence does not.

One Bio Star seal — Exemplary

BIO-STARRED

VOL. I · MMXXVI–MMXXVII

13-Circle Assessment

I
Core
Integrity
II
Efficacy
III
Physiological
Alignment
IV
Regulation &
Recovery
V
Input
Quality
VI
Environmental
Quality
VII
Operational
Precision
VIII
Care &
Competence
IX
Protocol
Design
X
Aesthetic
Restraint
XI
Stewardship
XII
Cultural
Responsibility
XIII
Enduring
Value
Pass
Partial

Inspector Notes

“I have tried more collagen powders than I can reasonably remember. holi (mane) is the best I have used.

“That conclusion did not begin with a clinical paper. It began with the powder itself. Marine collagen has one famous problem, and it is fish. Most brands solve it with a flavour system: sweetener, natural flavours, a gum to hold it together, sometimes a vitamin blend to give the label something else to say. holi (mane) solves it by not having the problem. Two ingredients. Marine collagen and crushed pearl. It goes into a coffee or a matcha and it is gone. I have taken it daily for a long time, and it has never once asked me to tolerate it.

“Read the label and you understand why. The supplement industry has spent years teaching consumers to read longer labels as better formulas. holi (mane) makes the opposite argument. No sweetener of any kind, not stevia, not monk fruit, not erythritol. No natural flavours. No gum. No filler. No beauty complex. There is nowhere for this formula to hide. Its quality rises or falls almost entirely on the collagen and the pearl, which is exactly how a formula should be built and almost never is.

“Personal experience can tell me whether a product is exceptional to use. It cannot tell me whether every biological claim surrounding it is true. That required a different examination.

“Start with what the collagen literature can actually carry. Hydrolysed collagen is digested to peptides and amino acids; certain hydroxyproline dipeptides reach the blood within an hour and, in culture, nudge fibroblasts to make more of what skin is made of. Randomised trials of fish collagen at doses from one to ten grams a day report better skin hydration and elasticity at twelve weeks, and this scoop, at roughly nine grams of collagen, sits at the top of that range, which is a real point in its favour. Then the two most recent syntheses of the whole field disagree. One, in 2026, pools thirty five trials and finds hydration, elasticity and barrier function reliably improved and the wrinkle results an artefact. The other, in 2025, finds that once you set aside the industry-funded and weaker trials, nothing remains. Both are careful. Both are in this file.

“Now the claims, which is where a product this honest in the pouch is not honest on the page. Agent Nateur says the collagen contains types I, II, III and IV. Fish scale collagen is type I; I found no source for meaningful II, III or IV in a scale hydrolysate, and two of the brand's own retailers say type 1. It says marine collagen is absorbed one and a half times more efficiently. I traced that number through two review articles to a 2009 paper that isolated collagen from seaweed pipefish and measured absorption in no one; the one human head-to-head study found porcine collagen slightly ahead. It says hair growth and gut repair. There is no trial of collagen alone on hair growth, and the gut study is one uncontrolled trial of a bovine peptide at twice this dose in which two thirds of the participants dropped out. I was asked to look for a clinical study with ninety one percent less breakage and eighty six percent better hydration. It is on no page the brand publishes today.

“The pearl deserves better than decoration and gets, on the page, worse. Pearl powder is mostly calcium carbonate with a small organic fraction; at about half a gram a scoop it is the label's two hundred milligrams of calcium, which is a fine thing for a powder to carry. Oceanic adaptogen is a phrase the brand made up. The glutathione and superoxide dismutase claims come from one twenty-person trial at six times this dose that measured blood markers and never looked at skin. Pearl has centuries of use in Chinese medicine, which would be worth saying plainly and is not said at all.

“Then the things a careful buyer would want and cannot get. How much of the ten grams is collagen: not stated, because it is a proprietary blend of two ingredients, which is a strange thing to keep secret. The heavy-metal testing: stated for nine metals on every batch, which is good, and shown nowhere, no laboratory, no certificate, no number, while one article says there are no heavy metals at all, which is not what testing means. Which fish: cod, pollock and haddock on the product page, and just fish on the label, where United States allergen rules want the species, and where a fifth of fish-allergic people would want it too. And the pages disagree with each other: scales or bones or skin; freshwater pearl or saltwater too; sixteen to twenty four grams of protein from scoops the label says hold 7.7; three hundred grams or three hundred and ninety.

“So, the anchors. Institutional score 3.21. Aesthetic Restraint 4.29, the highest in the file and among the highest in the volume, because discipline is the formula. Efficacy 2.43, because no study of this product exists and the claims outrun the literature. Stewardship 2.29, the floor, because nothing whatever is published about the pouch or the footprint. The computation is below Finalist. I ruled One Bio Star, and the file prints both numbers.

“I want to be exact about what the ruling recognises, because I sell nothing here and I have an opinion. It recognises the formula that exists: two ingredients, no disguise, a dose the trials actually used, and a finished product that is the best of its kind I have put in a cup. It does not recognise a single claim on the page that the evidence does not carry, and the file lists them. If Agent Nateur states the blend, publishes one certificate, puts the species on the label, tells one story about the fish and the pearl, withdraws what it cannot source and writes a page about the pouch, this formula earns its Star on the anchors without changing a gram.

“What remains after the marketing language is stripped away is still unusually good: a remarkably restrained marine-collagen formula, thoughtfully sourced, exceptionally easy to live with and executed with a level of purity I rarely encounter in the category. The Bio Star does not require complexity. Sometimes biological excellence is found in an extraordinary technology. Sometimes it is found in removing everything that does not need to be there.”

— Inspector 7

13-Circle Findings

Circle by Circle.

I · Core Integrity

Pass

Pass, with the strongest flags this volume has attached to a passing gate. What the pouch contains is exactly as claimed: fish collagen and pearl, nothing else, with no flavour, sweetener, gum or filler. What the pages claim goes beyond the evidence: four collagen types the literature does not support, an absorption multiplier that traces to a pipefish collagen-isolation paper, hair growth and gut repair without a trial, a customer count without a source, one article saying no heavy metals beside an FAQ saying tested, and a label that declares fish without the species United States allergen labelling requires.

II · Efficacy

Partial

2.43, and the reason the anchors computed below Finalist. No study of this product exists; the company-reported percentages the Inspectorate was asked to examine appear on no current page. At the ingredient level the base is real and the dose is right: randomised trials of fish collagen at one to ten grams report better hydration and elasticity, and this scoop sits at the top of that range. The two most recent meta-analyses disagree about whether any of it survives scrutiny of funding and quality. Hair growth, nail strength and gut repair are claimed and not supported.

III · Physiological Alignment

Pass

3.50. Biological in method throughout: a hydrolysed food protein and a mineral, nothing stimulating, nothing engineered to be felt, nothing asked of the body beyond a scoop in a drink.

IV · Regulation & Recovery

Partial

3.40. Low burden for most people and specific for some: fish collagen carries fish allergen and the label does not name the fish; pregnancy language goes further than any evidence; two hundred milligrams of calcium a scoop is unremarkable.

V · Input Quality

Partial

3.43. Formulation discipline is the exemplar: two ingredients and nothing added. Grade, traceability and sourcing hold the Circle below 3.50: no specification, no molecular weight, no certificate, no laboratory, no lot lookup, a proprietary blend that hides the proportion, tissue described three ways, and sustainable asserted without a fishery or a certification.

VI · Environmental Quality

Pass

3.50. Food-grade protein and mineral in a foil pouch of unstated material. The sensory achievement is the point: a marine collagen with no fish to disguise and no flavour system to disguise it with, recorded by the inspector as exceptional to take.

VII · Operational Precision

Partial

2.67. Heavy-metal testing on every batch for nine metals is stated, which is more than most of the category says, and shown nowhere. No manufacturing standard, facility or country from the brand. And the pages disagree with each other on the tissue, the pearl, the protein arithmetic, the serving unit, the pack size and the collagen types.

VIII · Care & Competence

Partial

3.00. A founder with a decade in the category and a physician collaborator; no scientific principal. Guidance is warm and in two places outruns the evidence, on pregnancy and on protein. No data collected, no account required.

IX · Protocol Design

Pass

3.71. Protocol design is a strength: one scoop into the drink already in your hand, no flavour to negotiate, three months before judging. The deduction is trust architecture, where the reader meets the unsupported claims and the undisclosed blend.

X · Aesthetic Restraint

Pass

4.29, the highest Circle in the file. Discipline is the formula, the visual system is among the most restrained in the volume, and the sensory execution is the best the inspector has encountered in the category. The one failure of restraint is the voice: oceanic adaptogen, four types, one and a half times, a million customers.

XI · Stewardship

Partial

2.29, the floor of the file. A foil pouch with no stated material, no refill, no recyclability statement, no carbon figure, no environmental position, and a sustainability claim for the fish with no fishery, certification or account of whether the collagen is recovered from processing streams.

XII · Cultural Responsibility

Partial

2.86. A material with centuries of use in Chinese medicine invoked without credit and renamed; third-party studies of other collagens presented as support for this one; sourcing and labour undocumented beyond adjectives.

XIII · Enduring Value

Partial

3.43. The hero formula since 2020, unchanged, fitting any life; repeatable in the hand and the cup by the inspector's sustained use; untested for outcomes; outcome data close to absent.

The Record

What was examined.

The formula

One ten-gram scoop, thirty to a pouch. A proprietary blend of wild-caught kosher hydrolysed fish collagen and pearl powder. 7.7 grams of protein, two hundred milligrams of calcium, twenty five milligrams of sodium, fifty calories. No other ingredient.

The collagen

Hydrolysed fish collagen; digested to peptides and amino acids, with hydroxyproline dipeptides reaching plasma within an hour. Molecular weight not stated. Quantity per scoop not stated; roughly nine and a half grams by inference from the calcium.

The fish

Cod, pollock and haddock, North Atlantic, wild-caught, kosher, non-GMO, per the product page. Tissue: scales on the product page, bones and scales in one article, skin in another. Certifier, fishery and supplier unnamed.

The types

Agent Nateur identifies the collagen as types I, II, III and IV. Fish scale and skin collagen is type I; no source reports meaningful II, III or IV in a scale hydrolysate; Violet Grey and Dermstore describe the product as type 1.

The purity

Present: fish collagen and pearl. Absent, by the label: flavour, sweetener, gum, filler, colour, preservative. Unverified: grade, molecular weight, purity figure, proportion of the blend.

The testing

Every batch of collagen tested by a third party for total heavy metals, arsenic, cadmium, chromium, copper, iron, lead, mercury and zinc, per the FAQ. Laboratory, certificate and results unpublished. One article states no heavy metals; testing does not establish absence and the FAQ does not claim it.

The pearl

More than ninety percent calcium carbonate with a small organic fraction of proteins, amino acids and trace elements. Roughly half a gram a scoop by inference. Freshwater in one article, fresh and saltwater in another; origin unstated. Centuries of use in Chinese medicine. Oceanic adaptogen is brand language.

The minerals

Two hundred milligrams of calcium a scoop, twenty percent of the daily value, is the one mineral at a meaningful level. More than thirty trace minerals are claimed; presence at trace level is not nutritional contribution.

The dose

Ten grams a scoop, of which most is collagen, at the top of the range used in positive skin trials (one to ten grams). Two to three scoops are recommended for sixteen to twenty four grams of protein; the label's 7.7 grams a scoop gives fifteen to twenty three.

The evidence

Randomised trials of fish collagen peptides: hydration and elasticity improved at twelve weeks at one gram (Kim 2018) and ten grams (Evans 2021). Hydroxyproline dipeptides in plasma after ingestion (Iwai 2005; Ohara 2007). Fibroblast stimulation in culture (Ohara 2010).

The contradiction

American Journal of Medicine, 2025, twenty three trials, 1,474 people: all-trials benefit on hydration, elasticity and wrinkles; no effect in non-industry-funded or high-quality trials; no clinical evidence to support collagen for skin ageing. Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, 2026, thirty five trials, 2,534 people: hydration, elasticity and barrier function reliably improved; wrinkle and density effects artefacts.

The product-specific study

The company-reported figures of ninety one, eighty eight, eighty six and sixty five percent appear on no current brand page, retailer page or press located. No study of holi (mane) exists in the record.

The hair claim

No randomised trial of collagen alone on hair growth, density or shedding exists. Multi-ingredient, manufacturer-run studies only.

The skin claim

Hydration and elasticity: supported at the ingredient level with modest effects and contested by one synthesis. Wrinkles and density: not robust. Hyperpigmentation: no evidence.

The nail claim

One open-label, uncontrolled study of a bovine peptide at 2.5 grams: nail growth up twelve percent, broken nails down forty two percent. Not marine, not controlled.

The gut claim

One uncontrolled study of a bovine peptide at twenty grams a day, thirty six starters, fourteen completers, sponsor-run. No human intestinal-permeability study with collagen.

The experience

The inspector records holi (mane) as the best collagen powder she has used and its use as exceptional. Recorded as an observation about the finished product.

The ritual

One scoop into coffee, matcha, a smoothie or a sauce, whisked, not too hot, per the brand. Odourless and nearly tasteless, per the brand. Disappears into an existing habit.

The packaging

A zip-top foil stand-up pouch, three hundred grams, thirty-six-month shelf life. Material, recyclability, refill: not stated.

The price

Ninety nine dollars for thirty scoops, three dollars thirty a serving, about thirty seven cents a gram of collagen; eighty four dollars fifteen on subscription; two hundred and fifty two for ninety days. Behind it: two ingredients, named species, stated batch testing, and no certificate.

The limit

Institutional score 3.21, floor 2.29 at Stewardship, Efficacy 2.43: computed below Finalist. One Bio Star by founder's ruling. A Star on the anchors requires the blend stated, a certificate published, the species on the label, one account of the tissue and the pearl, the unsupported claims withdrawn, and a page about the pouch.

The Reading Room

Inside the Unredacted File.

The full 13-Circle rubric. The Inspector's complete notes. The Evidence behind every finding. Filed inside the Membership.

Apply for Membership →

Continue the Archive